top of page

Movies, TV and Games of May 2024

A collection of mini-reviews about the movies and TV shows I’ve watched during the past month. I only watch things I’m personally interested in and please remember these are just my opinions. If you would like to read my reviews in full, Please go to my Letterboxd.



 

MOVIES


Challengers (2024, Luca Guadagnino ) ★★★★

The trailers really didn't do this justice, They made it look really goofy and unserious but its anything but. Sound design was fantastic, That high energy piece of music that kept playing was infectious. The camera work was really new and different, crazy fluid and dynamic. The way the final match was shot was electric especially the shots from the POV of the tennis ball. Solid writing and good call backs to things it set up at the start.


Love Lies Bleeding ( 2024, Rose Glass )
★★★

Kirsten Stewart's performance was good, I don't know why she blossoms so well in such weird movies but keep letting her do her thing because she does it well. She will never escape pick up trucks and small towns. The plot gets in and gets out just as quick honestly, It tied up most loose ends and I was pretty happy with the ending. I didn't understand what was the intention with the steroids and the hulk-ish transformation scenes but I think they're used to show Jackie's decent into drugs.

IF ( 2024, John Krasinski )

★★★

Wont lie, I really liked this one. Very strong with its tone, sentiment and atmosphere; The music and visuals made the whole thing feel really warm and nice. Its not amazing and its nothing new but I liked it, and it genuinely had me weeping uncontrollably at parts. Watch this space, Cailey Flemming is going places; The fact she holds so many heavy moments in this movie and it pays off without seeming cheesy and unearned.

Safe, inoffensive and simple but it has its charm, I had fun with IF.


Coraline ( 2009, Henry Selick )

★★★★★

A childhood favourite for me so I'm probably a little biased but I love this movie. Beautiful, practical animation with pretty solid voice acting and story. The score adds so much to this film and gives it such a unique atmosphere. I've seen this movie tens of times but I always root for Coraline and Wybie at the end.




TV SHOWS

BLEACH (2004, Noriyuki Abe ) - Seasons 1/2
★★★★★

I cannot overstate enough how much fantastic story telling goes into the first season. The building blocks were all there and while the slice-of-life angle the first half takes can be a little uninteresting sometimes it still sets up all the fundamental traits, beliefs and wants of an entire group of characters. Everything ignites as soon as you get to Episode 16 and the rip roaring iconography that Bleach is known for gets into full swing. A classic textbook anime. The Soul Society arc is the absolute best in the series, expect a solo post about this one soon.


The Amazing Digital Circus ( 2024, Gooseworx ) S1E2 ★★★

I'm a fan of TADC in the same way I'm a fan of Hazbin Hotel, Its not my favourite but as a supporter of small time animation I really enjoy it. Voice acting was really great, Pomni especially, Lizzie Freeman does a really good job with the range. I wasn't a Jax enjoyer to begin with but I really don't care for him anymore. I really hope this show doesn't keep just being misery, I really want an ending for these characters. Calling it now, Jax is an NPC. Justice for Gumigoo.


Bridgerton ( 2020, Shondaland ) - S1.5/2


I'm not rating this because I haven't watched it as a whole so can't judge it widely but honestly, its pretty good. Its fun, quirky and kinda weird but in a good way. Very watchable, kept my attention and the characters are really interesting. I hear the new season is pretty good, I might sit down to watch it as a whole someday.


I found out a spoiler from season 3 involving Pen but I'm happy about it so its a good thing.



Smiling Friends ( 2024, Zach Hadel, Michael Cusack ) S1E1-2


At time of writing, only some of this season have aired so I can't rate as a whole but my girlfriend loves this show so I will be actively watching it. I love the gwimbly episode, The second one was a bit weaker but I think the political commentary was spot on and very point blank.



Doctor Who ( 2024, Russell T Davies )

S1E1-2 - ★★★

Solid start tbh. Millie and Ncuti sell me on all the crazy shit that goes on in these episodes. They speed ran all the usual doctor / companion stuff but it works for new fans and old. Somethings up with Ruby. It reminds me of River Song or the DoctorDonna. I like that he called out her straight away with the no going back the church, He's learned from 9 and Rose. No one needs to convince me, Ncuti Gatwa IS the doctor.



South Park: Not Suitable for Children

( 2023, Parker, Stone ) ★★★


Pretty good episode ngl. I always love a Clyde episode, He's a really good middle ground between Cartman and Stan. Commentary is there as always. Some of the animated sequences in this one look really good. How has Sharon not murdered and/or divorced Randy yet??




GAMES


FALLOUT 4 (2014, BETHESDA )
★★★★★

Listen, I love Fallout SO much. The detail, lore and world around it is amazing. The gameplay is dynamic and people aren't lying when they say EVERYTHING is customizable. But this game does not love me, every time I tried to love it and get into it I would always get my ass handed to me but its fun. I love it a lot but it does not love me.



Leave your email in the mailing box below to keep updated on similar geeky content!

All images belong to respective copyright owners. Copyright Disclaimer Under Section 107 of the Copyright Act 1976, allowance is made for "fair use" for purposes such as criticism, comment, news reporting, teaching, scholarship, and research. Non-profit, educational or personal use tips the balance in favour of fair use.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page